Questa pagina in italiano
Intro The house

The «Cinque Terre»

The Cinque Terre
Le Cinque Terre
With "Cinque Terre" is usually meant the area at the very far end of the East Ligurian Coast (few kilometers West of La Spezia and about 130 East of Genova) that embrace the five seafarersí villages of Monterosso, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore and their neighborhoods.

This area constitute most of the National Park of the Cinque Terre, while the sea - beside being part of the so-called "Whale Sanctuary" - is a protected natural marine area. It's no surprise, therefore, that the "Cinque Terre" have been inscribed by the UNESCO (together with Portovenere and the islands of Palmaria, Tino and Tinetto) in the "World Heritage".


A picture of the village
Vernazza is considered by many to be the pearl of the Cinque Terre, the most beautiful of the five villages.